Frugal Shopping: Beef

Food Lion’s new ad came out yesterday.  I was happy to find was whole boneless sirloin tip roast for $1.98/lb.  I am thankful I ventured out this morning, for there was only one roast left.  These roasts are big; mine was about 14.5 pounds.  I don’t need a roast that big! I cook roasts sometimes, but ground meat is much more useful to me. I asked the meat manager to grind it for me.

Ground Beef – 73% Lean, 27% Fat

Ground Chuck – 80% Lean, 20% Fat

Ground Sirloin – 85% Lean, 15% Fat

Ground Round – 90% Lean, 10 % Fat

I have tried to stop buying regular ground beef (73/27) because I felt I was losing too much weight to fat as I cooked.  Ground Sirloin and Ground Round are great, but they are often only sold in tiny packages, not to mention they are pricey.  The best deal I found this week on my coupon/grocery deal sites on ground beef was Ground Chuck for $2.99/lb, and that was at a store I don’t have here.  Having the meat manager grind the roast netted me Ground Sirloin, a better grade of ground, for $1 less/lb.  That’s my tip of the day – don’t be afraid to ask the meat manager to grind or cut up the on-sale roast into something else. I was able to get seven freezer bags of ground sirloin, each a smidgen over 2 lbs, into the big freezer.

They also advertised a meal deal that involved buying 2 packages of Gordon’s Fish Fillets and getting free frozen veggies, free frozen potatoes, a free frozen cobbler and free Cool-Whip. That will be a fun dinner later on. Everything is frozen/freezable.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Frugality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment